Iowa Broadcast News Association Awards


Each year, the Iowa Broadcast News Association awards three prestigious broadcast scholarships - two in the category of television broadcasting, and one in radio. Last week at the IBNA Conference in Coralville, IA, both of the television broadcast scholarships were awarded to Loras College students. 

Loras first-year student, Mareah Adolphs from Miles, IA was awarded the Grant Price Scholarship. This scholarship is designed to recognize outstanding promise at an early career stage. The scholarship amount is $1,000. Mareah is the fourth Loras student to receive this award.
Loras Junior, Ellen Reiss from Ryan, Iowa has been named the Dick Petrik Outstanding Student. This award is given annually to a college student whose work shows outstanding potential for a career in electronic media journalism, and carries with it a monetary award of $500. Reiss was also presented with the Don Shelby Journalism Scholarship by NATAS (The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences) - Upper Midwest Chapter/Foundation. This prestigious Scholarship carries with it a $2,500 monetary award. NATAS, best known for their coveted Emmy awards, is an organization dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work, past and present; providing professional development and outreach; and nurturing the next generation of television professionals. This is the first time a Loras student has been presented with this award.

In addition, LCTV had another incredibly successful year at the IBNA Awards ceremony. The students were honored with the following awards:
1st Place
Best Sportscast: "SportsZONE" - Producers: Katlyn Gerken ('13) & Mike Gelsinon ('14), Anchors: Zach Altfillisch ('14) & Katlyn Gerken
News Photography: "Gutter Grabber", Felicia Carner ('12)
Feature Story: "Dubuque Unemployment", Ellen Reiss ('13)
Political Coverage: "LCTV Political Coverage Compilation" - LCTV Staff
In Depth/Series: "Never Giving Up: Unemployment" - Ellen Reiss ('13)
Public Affairs: "Dubuque City Council Elections Preview" - LCTV Staff
Farm & Ag: "Johnson's Honey Farm" - Felicia Carner ('12)
Overall Excellence in Reporting: Felicia Carner ('12)
Overall Excellence in Anchoring: Katlyn Gerken ('13) & Zach Altfillisch ('14)
2nd Place
Best Newscast: "LCTV News" - Producers & Anchors: Felicia Carner ('12) & Lauren DeWitt ('13)
General Reporting: "Hail Damage" - Lauren DeWitt ('13)
Overall Excellence in Reporting: Ellen Reiss ('13)
3rd Place
General Reporting: "WIC Cuts" - Ellen Reiss ('13)
In Depth/Series: "Prevention and Early Detection" - Lauren DeWitt ('13)
Sports Play-by-Play: "Loras vs. Wartburg Football" - Mike Gerken ('12), Zach Altifillisch ('14), Danny Ready ('13)
Overall Excellence in Anchoring: Felicia Carner ('12) & Lauren DeWitt ('13

© LORAS COLLEGE  800.245.6727
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission