Loras College Business Students Selected to Compete at National Phi Beta Lambda Competition

Loras College is proud to announce that 23 Loras College students from the Loras College Business Club were selected to compete at this year’s Phi Beta Lambda State Conference at the University of Northern Iowa on April 5-6, 2013 and 20 qualified for Nationals in Anaheim, Calif.  Three of the 23 students, Tommy Carr (’14) (Rochester, Minn.), Nicholas Czeshinski (’14) (Dubuque, Iowa) and Brian Kinney (’13) (Gurnee, Ill.), won all three events that they entered.   
The Loras College Business Club is the organization on campus that is affiliated with the national Phi Beta Lambda organization. The mission of the organization is to further equip the current business student with the tools necessary to become a future business leader. Members of Phi Beta Lambda at Loras participate in a variety of activities that enhance their knowledge of business, including state and national competitions.
Club moderator and professor Mathew Keyes shared, “When I organized the club three years ago I could only imagine this type of success.  I am extremely proud of our students and I look forward to even more success in the future.”  
According to Loras Business Club President Nicholas Czeshinski, “The competition is a great way for us to sharpen our presentation skills and test our knowledge of business, economics, finance and marketing at the state and national level.  Our placements at the state level have qualified us to compete on a national level, which is evidence of the high quality education we are receiving at Loras College.” 
All the results are listed below.  
Accounting Analysis and Decision 1st Cassie Crabill (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Michael Rubel (‘13) (Bellevue, Iowa)
Aaron Strong (‘13) (Elgin, Iowa)
  2nd Daniel Gambal (‘13) (West Dundee, Ill.)
Isabela Pessatto (‘14) (Muscatine, Iowa)
Danielle Koos  (‘14) (La Motte, Iowa)
Accounting For Professionals 1st Michael Rubel (‘13) (Bellevue, Iowa)
3rd Aaron Strong (‘13) (Elgin, Iowa)
5th Matthew Lane (‘14) (Maquoketa, Iowa)
Accounting Principals 5th Austin Heeren (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Business Presentation 5th Justin Gonner (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Aaron Strong (‘13) (Elgin, Iowa)
Client Service 2nd Catherine Bethke (‘13) (Webster, Iowa)
Computer Applications 5th Tyler Schaefer (‘16) (Platteville, Wis.)
Computer Concepts 4th Timothy Nass (‘15) (Bellevue, Iowa)
Contemporary Sports Issues 5th Daniel Pauley (‘14) (Oak Forest, Ill.)
Data Base Design 2nd Tyler Schaefer (‘16) (Platteville, Wis.)
Economic Analysis and Decision Making 1st Thomas Carr (‘14) (Rochester, Minn.)
Nicholas Czeshinski (‘14) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Financial Analysis and Decision Making 1st Brock Wagner (‘13) (La Motte, Iowa)
Thomas Carr (‘14) (Rochester, Minn.)
Nicholas Czeshinski (‘14) (Dubuque, Iowa)
  2nd Justin Gonner (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Michael Rubel (‘13) (Bellevue, Iowa)
Financial Concepts 4th Danielle Koos (’14) (La Motte, Iowa)
Financial Services 2nd Henry Song, (Dubuque, IA) Brock Wagner (La Motte, IA)
Justin Gonner (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Impromptu Speaking 3rd Catherine Bethke (‘13) (Webster, Iowa)
  4th Henry Song (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Information Management 1st Cassie Crabill (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Integrated Marketing Campaign 1st Brian Kinney (‘13) (Gurnee, Ill.)
Catherine Bethke (‘13) (Webster, Iowa)
Abbey Tjebkes (‘14) (Waverly, Iowa)
Job Interview 2nd Danielle Koos (‘14) (La Motte, Iowa)
Macroeconomics 1st Tomas Carr (‘13) (Rochester, Minn.)
Management Analysis and Decision Making 1st Brian Kinney (‘13) (Gurnee, Ill.)
Management Concepts 3rd Claira Sieverding (‘13) (Bellevue, Iowa)
  5th Matthew Lane (‘14) (Maquoketa, Iowa)
Networking Concepts 3rd Claira Sieverding (‘13) (Bellevue, Iowa)
Retail Management 1st Brian Kinney (‘13) (Gurnee, Ill.)
Sales Presentation 5th Henry Song (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Sports Management 3rd Daniel Pauley (‘14) (Oak Forest, Ill.)
Statistical Analysis 2nd Austin Heeren (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Word Processing 5th Matthew Lane (‘14) (Maquoketa, Iowa)
Future Business Executive (The Flagship Competition) 1st Nicholas Czeshinski (‘14) (Dubuque, Iowa)
  2nd Brock Wagner (‘13) (La Motte, Iowa)
  3rd Cassie Crabill (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
© LORAS COLLEGE  800.245.6727
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission