Loras Recognizes Faculty and Staff at Annual Ceremony

LorasCollegeThis spring, Loras College hosted its annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Ceremony, where faculty and staff were recognized for five, ten, fifteen, twenty, twenty five, and thirty years of service to the College.  

The Loras College Staff Recognition Award recipient was named during this event. This award recognizes a fulltime staff member who has demonstrated a high degree of excellence, professionalism and integrity in the performance of their duties for Loras College. Additionally, the recipient has proven his or her willingness to assist other members of the Loras community and work for the general well-being of Loras College. This year's recipient was Faye Finnegan (’78), Coordinator of Career Services and Campus Internships, Center for Experiential Learning (CEL).
Finnegan was recognized based on her dedication to Loras, its students and the Dubuque community.  Her nomination letter noted That “she will spend countless hours – well beyond any 40-hour work week – to make sure that not only her work is done well, but that anyone with a need has also had that need met” and illustrated her commitment with a story of how she helped international students who didn’t have winter clothing by literally “giving them the coat off her back.” 

Also,  the Loras College Board of Regents ratified the recommendation from the Rank and Tenure Committee, the Provost and the President's decision to grant tenure and promotion to Associate Professor to:

Marcie L. Hinton, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Public Relations
William J. Jablonsky, M.F.A., Assistant Professor of English
Seth D. Myers, M.F.A., Assistant Professor of Art and Communication
Kathrin (Kate) A. Parks, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Sociology
Debra (Deb) S. Sazama, M. S. Assistant Professor of Physical Education and Sport Studies
Michael E. Thompson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Computing and Information Technology

Tenure is awarded by the College to a faculty member after careful and comprehensive assessment of their performance and the needs of the College. Tenure ensures the academic freedom that is essential to inquiry and learning. Promotions in rank recognize rising levels of professional development in the areas of teaching, scholarship and service.

Three other professors were recognized with the following prestigious awards:

The John Cardinal O’Connor Chair for Catholic Thought was awarded to David A. Pitt, Ph.D., associate professor of theology. The O’Connor Chair is awarded for projects in which the faculty member reflects creatively upon one or more of the following in light of Catholic thought: their disciplines, service, teaching, scholarship, significant contemporary issues, interdisciplinary perspectives and diversity. 

The John Henry Cardinal Newman Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award was presented to Craig Schaefer, professor of communication arts. This award recognizes a faculty member who has a continued and well-rounded record of excellence for more than 12 years in the areas of: campus involvement/leadership, creative course development, pioneering teaching methodology, counseling effectiveness, positive role model and model classroom teaching.

Breyan Strickler, Ph.D., associate professor of English, was awarded The Mike and Linda Budde Teaching Excellence Award. This award is granted annually to the top professor who has taught at Loras College fewer than 11 years. The award recognizes effectiveness in classroom teaching; concern for the role of one’s discipline within a Catholic liberal arts institution, the relationship of one’s discipline to other intellectual perspectives and, where appropriate, its bearing on moral, social and religious questions; and effectiveness in providing accurate academic advisement to students, in the supervision of independent study, and informal contact with students in order to create an environment conducive to student learning. 

© LORAS COLLEGE  800.245.6727
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission