Loras Prepares for 175th Commencement Ceremony; Celebrates Faculty and Staff Awards

Elizabeth Rogers, M.D.Loras College will hold its 175th commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 24, 2014, at 1:30 p.m., in the Rock Bowl Stadium. A baccalaureate Mass will also be held at 10 a.m., in the Athletic and Wellness Center, located near Loras Parkway and 17th Street. 
Elizabeth Rogers, M.D. (’01), Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota School of Medicine, Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Pediatrics,  will serve as the Loras commencement speaker.
Rogers graduated magna cum laude from Loras College in 2001 with a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry. She earned her doctor of medicine degree, with high honors, from the University of Nebraska College of Medicine. Dr. Rogers then completed her residency training in Internal Medicine and Pediatrics at Harvard's Brigham and Women's Hospital and Children's Hospital Boston Residency Program. She pursued a fellowship in primary care research and completed a Master of Applied Science in Clinical Research, with a certificate in Implementation Science, from the University of California, San Francisco, in 2013.  For more information on Dr. Rogers, please click here.
On March 21, 2014, Loras held its Annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards to highlight and honor tenure, promotions, sabbaticals, anniversaries and honors for excellence and leadership.  Recognitions included:
Tenure: The Loras College Board of Regents ratified the recommendation from the Rank and Tenure Committee, the Provost and the President’s decision to grant tenure and promotion to associate professor to: 
  • Kate M. Cooper, Ph.D. (biology)
  • Doug Gambrall, Ed.D. (business administration)
  • Glenn Pohland, D.M.A. (music)
  • Matthew Rissler, Ph.D. (mathematics)
  • Erin VanLaningham, Ph.D. (English)
Promotion: President Jim Collins granted promotion to the rank of professor to:
  • Paul Kohl, Ph.D. (communication arts)
  • John Waldmeir, Ph.D. (religious studies)
Sabbatical: The sabbatical leave provides an opportunity for faculty to improve their competence as creative and interpretive teachers. On the recommendations of the Faculty Development Committee and the Provost, the President approved the following faculty members for sabbatical in the 2014-15 academic year:
  • Douglas Donald, associate professor of communication arts
  • Debra Schleicher, associate professor of business administration
  • Matthew Garrett, Ph.D., professor of physical education
  • Lisa Garoutte, Ph.D., associate professor of sociology
  • Mark Kehren, Ph.D., associate professor of history
The Mike and Linda Budde Teaching Excellence Award:
Kate Cooper, associate professor of biology, received this award, granted annually to the top assistant, associate or full professor who has taught at Loras fewer than 11 years. The award recognizes effectiveness in classroom teaching, concern for the role of one’s discipline within a Catholic liberal arts institution and effectiveness in creating an environment conducive to student learning.
John Henry Cardinal Newman Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award: This award recognizes a faculty member who has a continued, well-rounded record of excellence for more than 12 years in the areas of: campus involvement/leadership, creative course development, pioneering teaching methodology, counseling effectiveness, positive role model and model classroom teaching.
  • Rev. Douglas Wathier, professor of theology and endowed professor  of Catholic Leaders and Thinkers
  • John Waldmeir, Ph.D, professor of religious studies
Loras College Staff Recognition Award:
Kim Walsh, associate dean of students, received this award, granted annually to full-time hourly or salaried staff members with at least five years of continuous service, for outstanding accomplishments and contributions that significantly benefited, brought honor or recognition to Loras College.

View additional Loras Link articles.

© LORAS COLLEGE  800.245.6727
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission