Loras College Television is Awarded Television Station of the Year for the Fourth Consecutive Year

Loras College Television (LCTV) was awarded the title of Television Station of the Year by the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA) for the fourth consecutive year at the ICMA Convention in Des Moines, Iowa.  

In addition, LCTV News was awarded 1st Place in the Best Newscast category.   LCTV and The Lorian’s converged news website, Myduhawk.com, was named Best Multimedia Online Edition.  

The ICMA is an organization comprised of Iowa college and university student media organizations, such as student newspapers, radio stations and television stations. Its goal is to advance the knowledge of student media producers by allowing them to interact with media professionals. 

Alli Ellwood (’14) (Des Plaines, Ill.) and Francesca Mosca (’14) (Plainfield, Ill.) shared their experience after being awarded first place for Best Promo/Commercial.  “We wanted to complete a project that would benefit Loras in some way, so we concentrated our commercial on the bookstore.  We won praise from the judges at the ICMA conference for our choice to use a cheerleader as our lead talent. The commercial took a total of two weeks to complete and was worth the time investment. It was exciting to be able to show our commercial to a room of students and professors from other universities, and professionals in our industry, and receive such a positive response. We won first place in our class competition alongside our first place honors at ICMA.”

Loras’ students who also took home individual awards:
Best News Story (Storytelling) 2nd Place Field of Dreams – Katlyn Gerken (‘13) (Batavia, Ill.), Lauren DeWitt (’13)(Barrington, Ill.)
  3rd Place Adventure TherapyCharles Warren (’14) (Rockford, Ill.)
Best Sportscasting 2nd Place Loras vs. Wartburg Men’s Football – LCTV Live Sports Crew                     
  Honorable Mention   Loras vs. Wheaton Men’s Soccer – LCTV Live Sports Crew                     
Best News Programming 2nd  Place The Rivalry – Jim Naprstek (’13) (Plainfield, Ill.)
  3rd Place   LCTV Live from AWC – LCTV Staff 
                                                      Honorable Mention   Election 2011 – LCTV Staff
Best Documentary (short) 1st Place   ManassehLauren DeWitt (‘13), Jacob Spiekermeier (’12) (Robins, Iowa)
  2nd Place BentleyAshley Rouse (’13) (Yorkville, Ill.), Molly Devine (’13) (Shorewood, Ill.)
  3rd Place Dream of BombfireConnor Stickney (’14) (Barrington,Ill.)
Best Variety, Music, Comedy 2nd Place Late Night LorasTayler Hinesley (’15) (Middleton, Iowa), Dalton Graham (’15) (Mount Horeb, Wis.), Brian Cullen (’15) (Cary, Ill.)
  3rd Place   EP & PE  - Eric Osborn (’13) Cedar Rapids, Iowa), Paul Deeter (’13) (Milwaukee, Wis.)
  Honorable Mention The Morning Du - Mary Agnoli (’15) (Davenport, Iowa), Matt Resnick (’15) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Best Promo/Commercial/PSA 1st  Place   Loras BookstoreAlli Ellwood (’14), Francesca Mosca (’14)
  2nd Place Opening Door Dash  - Felicia Carner (‘12) (Dubuque, Iowa)
  3rd Place   Powerade Thirst is AnnoyingEric Osborn (’13), Jake Roth (’13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
Best Experimental Video 1st  Place   Flower Girl – Matt Resnick (‘15), Carolyn Earner (’15) (Oak Lawn, Ill.)
  2nd Place RunningAlli Ellwood (’14), Francesca Mosca (’14)
  3rd Place   Searching for MoreConnor Stickney (’14)
Best Short Film 1st  Place   The Divine Comedy Ted Wittman (‘13) (Dubuque, Iowa)
  2nd Place AafreenRajendra Thakurathi (’12) (Mahendranagar, Nepal), Jacob Spiekermeier (’12), Michael Harlovic (’12) (Lemont, Ill.)
  3rd Place I DoJulie Van Dyn Hoven (’14) (Freedom, Wis.), Zach Altfillisch (’14) (Galena, Ill.), Jacob Spiekermeier (’12), Devin Gackle (’15) (Lake Ville, Ill.), Michael Gelsinon (’14) (Chicago, Ill.)
         Honorable Mention   Alone  – Jake Roth (’13), Lauren DeWitt (’13), Ted Wittman (’13), Morgan Heim (’15) (New Albin, Iowa)
Best Corporate Video 3rd  Place   Quest for Ansors – Felicia Carner (‘12), Michael Lawrence (’12) (Anamosa, Iowa)
Best Online Video 3rd Place Take 5 Webcast  - Mareah Adolphs (’15) (Miles, Iowa), Samantha Cihak (’15) (Naperville, Ill.)
Best Online Breaking Story Honorable Mention   Dubuque Stabbing Lauren DeWitt (’13)
Best Use of Social Media 2nd Place  Myduhawk.com                
© LORAS COLLEGE  800.245.6727
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission