Loras Media Studies Garners More Accolades

Robert Waterbury

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Loras students earned six top honors as part of the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA)  2020 Eric Sevareid Awards. The awards honor the best work done by student and professional journalists working for broadcast news operations in small, medium and large markets in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin on radio, television and online.

Nine different students had their efforts recognized by the MBJA for work that was completed during the 2019 calendar year. Three first place awards went to pieces by Nate Kaiser (’22), Pat Hunt (’20), Dana Majerczyk (’20), CJ Ponton (’20), Asia Singleton (’20) and Abby Paul (‘). Singleton, Kaiser, and Ponton worked with Maggie Wedlake (’20), Amber Krieg (’20), and Morgan Minear (’21) to earn three Awards of Merit.

The awards are named for North Dakota-born and University of Minnesota-educated journalist Eric Sevareid, best known for his work as a correspondent for CBS Radio and Television. Typically, a ceremony is held each spring as part of the Midwest Journalism Conference. Due to the cancellation of the conference, the winners were shared online.

Related News